Get to know more about Karnataka government on our about page.

12 Cities in Karnataka get a name change

Good..finally the city names have changed

The long standing demand of Kannadigas to change their city names is finally done. December 11, 2005: Karnataka State Government accepted a proposal from UR Ananthamurthy to change Bangalore to Bengaluru. September 27, 2006: BBMP passes the proposal to change the name from Bangalore to Bengaluru. August 30, 2012: Union Government seeks comments from Survey […]

Everything you should know about Smart Cities in Karnataka

London Metro. Photographer Anna Dziubinska

Let us start with the basic question: What is a smart city? In India, when we use the term smart city, it refers to a city which is well-planned in terms of Structural layout Has transport and communication amenities Has natural resources Human capital Provide a good quality of life and Ensure the participation of […]

Karnataka General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2014

Overall results of General Elections (Lok Sabha Elections) held in Karnataka in 2014, Total number of seats 28 BJP: 17 (-2) Congress: 9 (+3) JD(S): 2 (-1) Also see, General Elections 2009 Karnataka Results General Elections 2014 in India – Parliamentary Constituencies in Karnataka Karnataka: AAP gets lesser vote count than NOTA Mysore Paints […]

Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2014 Voter Turnout

General elections (Lok Sabha elections) was held in India during April-May 2014 in a total of nine phases. Elections were held in Karnataka in the 5th phase. Bangalore has a huge population of the IT/BT sector who tend to complain a lot of non-governance, unfortunately the voter turnout in Bangalore was the worst in the […]

Parliamentary Constituencies in Karnataka

Karnataka will go to elections in 2014 for 28 Lok Sabha seats. Here is the list of the 28 Parliamentary Constituencies of Karnataka along with the assembly constituency segments under each parliamentary constituency for Lok Sabha Elections 2014. The state has 46,211,844 voters and 434 candidates in the fray. 21 candidates among the 434 are women […]

Tumkur One – Responsive Governance

Tumkur One is a unique project initiated by the Government of Karnataka. This project offers the citizens a one stop shop for various kinds of services provided by government departments and the private businesses. The services are provided in a convenient, efficient and citizen-friendly manner through the effective use of IT tools. These services are […]

List of 2014 Government Holidays

Karnataka Government Holiday

The Karnataka State Government has announced the list of general holidays for State Government employees for the year 2014. Also See : Karnataka Government Holidays For 2013 Karnataka Government Holidays For 2012 Karnataka Government Holidays For 2011 Karnataka Government Holidays For 2010 About Karnataka Govt

Is Akrama-Sakrama A Setback for Law-abiding Citizens?

Akrama-Sakrama is the popular term used to describe the ‘Regularization of Unauthorized Development and Constructions’ bill of the Karnataka Government. The bill was proposed with the intention to legalize the illegal. It aims to regularize unauthorized or illegal developments and constructions in urban areas. Since its inception, several ruling governments have worked towards the implementation […]