Mysore University

    Categories: Education

Well-known by the name Manasagangotri, Mysore University was the sixth university to be set up in India and the first university in the state of Karnataka. Today, it caters to the requirements of about 53,000 students across five constituent colleges and 122 affiliated colleges in the districts of Mysore, Mandya, Hassan and Chamarajnagar.

Mysore University comprises of two postgraduate centers, 37 postgraduate departments and eight centers for research and training. It was the first Indian university to receive a grade of A+ from the National Assessment and Accreditation Council.

Crawford Hall, Mysore University

What Does Mysore University Offer

Mysore University offers courses in a wide range of subjects ranging from botany, biochemistry, food science and nutrition and sericulture to anthropology, psychology, journalism, economics, Jainology, Kannada studies and philosophy. Besides courses of academic value, the university also offers several certificate and diploma courses that are job-oriented.

Recognizing the high level of academics at Manasagangotri, the University Grants Commission has recommended that this university should be denoted as a National Centre for Excellence.

The well-stocked library of Mysore University houses more than 800,000 books and around 2,400 journals with volumes that run into figures greater than 100,000. Besides the library, the campus has an auditorium, swimming pool, amphitheater and dedicated hostel facilities for men and women.

Besides the main campus located at Mysore, the university also runs two satellite campuses in Mandya and Hassan to cater to the educational needs of students of these districts.

Research and Grants at Mysore University

With several notable scientists and researchers on its faculty list, Mysore University is at the forefront of scientific research with more than 1343 national and 1280 international publications.

Research work at this university receives grants to the tune of more than Rs. 390 million from both government and non-government institutions such as the Indian Council for Agricultural Research, Indian Council for Medical Research, University Grants Commission, All India Council for Technical Education, Department of Science and Technology and the Ford Foundation.

The university has also undertaken a unique venture of interfacing and providing consultation to industrial organizations through the University Industry Interaction Center. Through this Center, faculty members provide consultancy to organizations such as the Indian Space Research Organisation, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and the Indian Institutes of Technology. Most consultancy services are concentrated in areas such as geology, psychology, sericulture and food science and nutrition.

The Who’s Who of Mysore University

Mysore University was founded in 1916 by the efforts of the eminent engineer and statesman Sri M. Visvesvarayya under the reign of the Maharaja of Mysore Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV. It was recognized as an autonomous university by the University Grants Commission in 1956.

The Chancellor of Mysore University is the Honorable Governor of Karnataka Sri Hans Raj Bharadwaj and the Vice Chancellor is Prof. V. G. Talawar. Several eminent personalities have been associated with Mysore University as either alumni or faculty of which, a few include Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, R.K. Narayan, R.K. Laxman, K.V. Puttappa and N. R. Narayana Murthy.

With its pursuit of excellence in academics and research, Mysore University truly lives up to its sobriquet of Manasagangotri which literally translates as the fountainhead of the Ganga of the Mind.

Contact Address

Mysore University,
D C Office,
Mysore – 570005
Tel : +91-821-241 9336

Also See :

Raggi Mudde :