Governors of Karnataka

    Categories: Government

The Governor of Karnataka is the nominal head of the state. The President of India directly appoints the Governor for a period of 5 years. The Governor’s powers and functions at the state level are similar to those of the President of India at Union level.

Jayachamarajendra Wadiya, The 1st Governor of the reorganized or unified State of Mysore. Image courtesy URajachandra

The primary function of the Governor is to defend, protect, and preserve the Constitution and the law. The Governor of Karnataka can exercise the following powers:

  • Executive powers in relation to administration, appointments, and removals
  • Legislative powers in relation to law making and the Karnataka State Legislature
  • Discretionary powers that can be applied as per the discretion of the Governor

The list of Governors of Karnataka since the formation of the state is as follows:

Sl NoNameFromTo
1Jayachamaraja Wodeyar1 November 19564 May 1964
2S M Srinagesh4 May 19642 April 1965
3V. V. Giri2 April 196513 May 1967
4Gopal Swarup Pathak13 May 196730 August 1969
5Dharma Vira23 October 19691 February 1972
6Mohanlal Sukhadia1 February 197210 January 1976
7Uma Shankar Dikshit10 January 19762 August 1977
8Govind Narain2 August 197715 April 1983
9Ashoknath Banerji16 April 198325 February 1989
10Pendekanti Venkatasubbaiah26 February 19885 February 1990
11Bhanu Pratap Singh8 May 19906 January 1991
12Khurshed Alam Khan6 January 19912 December 1999
13V. S. Ramadevi2 December 199920 August 2002
14T. N. Chaturvedi21 August 200220 August 2007
15Rameshwar Thakur21 August 200724 June 2009
16H. R. Bhardwaj24 June 200929 June 2014
17Dr. K. Rosaiah 29 June 201431 August 2014
18Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala1 September 2014present

Also see

Raggi Mudde :