Everything You Should Know About the Location Of Karnataka

    Categories: Profile

Karnataka is located in the south western region of India. Spread over an area of 191,791 square km, the state borders the western coast of the Indian subcontinent. Karnataka is situated in the Deccan Plateau and it witnesses the convergence of the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats into the Nilgiri Hills. Karnataka covers about 750 km from North to South and about 400 km from East to West. The coastline of Karnataka stretches for about 320 km.

With its long stretch of scenic coastline, lofty green hills and pleasant climate Karnataka enjoys an enviable location within the Indian subcontinent.

Latitude and Longitude of Karnataka

Karnataka is situated approximately between 11.5° North and 18.5° North latitudes and 74° East and 78.5° East longitudes.

Neighboring Areas of Karnataka

Karnataka in India Map

Karnataka shares its western border with the Arabian Sea and the Laccadive Sea. Area wise Karnataka is the seventh largest state in India and it shares its boundaries with one union territory and five states of the country. The union territory of Goa lies to the north west of Karnataka. The state has Maharashtra neighbouring it on the north. Telangana stands to the north east side of Karnataka while Andhra Pradesh shares its eastern border. On the south east side lies the state of Tamil Nadu while Kerala surrounds it on the south west side.

Karnataka’s capital city, Bengaluru (Bangalore) is located near its south eastern border.

Expansion of Karnataka’s boundaries

The state of Karnataka was earlier known as Mysore state. Before India gained independence, Mysore was a landlocked princely state situated on the South Karnataka Plateau. In the ancient days Mysore was a vast kingdom but after the British annexed it, Mysore was left with an area of just 78,000 square km. After the country gained independence, Mysore became a part of the Union of India.

As the states were reorganised based on linguistic and other criteria, the Kannada speaking population came together to form present day Karnataka under the name of Mysore. The transfer of additional territories to the state in 1953 and 1956 extended its boundaries significantly and provided the state an outlet to the sea. The state was renamed as Karnataka in 1973.

Also see,

Raggi Mudde :