Yenepoya University

    Categories: Education

Yenepoya University is a deemed university set up in 1991 under the aegis of the The Islamic Academy of Education. This university is a philanthropic Muslim Minority Trust administered and supported by the Yenepoya Trust. Yenepoya University was the first private University in South Canara, and is located at Deralakatte, at a distance of 15 kms from the port city of Mangalore.

What Does It Offer?

The university has the following colleges under its management:

1. Yenepoya Medical College: The College offers a 4.5 year MBBS course and a 1.5 year internship programme. The internship program is conducted at the 700-bed hospital attached to the medical college. Following the MBBS degree, doctors can complete the MD degree for specialization in General Medicine, Paediatrics, Pathology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, diseases of the ear, nose and throat and Ophthalmology.

2. Yenepoya Dental College: The College offers a 4 year BDS course and a 1 year internship programme at the dental clinic attached to the hospital. A Master of Dental surgery course affiliated to the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences for a further three years is offered at this college. The areas of specialization are Oral Medicine, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Orthodontics, Prosthodontics, Oral Pathology and Microbiology.

3. Yenepoya Physiotherapy College: Physiotherapy courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels are offered at this college. The college is well equipped with electrotherapy and therapeutic laboratories and hydrotherapy and exercise therapy facilities.

4. Yenepoya Nursing College: The college offers the basic 4 year BSc Nursing course and 2 year post graduate Nursing courses leading to an MSc degree. Specialized Nursing courses in Community Health, OBG, Surgical Nursing and Psychiatric Nursing are also offered.

Campus Facilities and More

1.The library is housed in a 3-storied 35000 square foot space. Latest medical journals and reference material will be available to all students. The library also provides a circulation service and access to reference material.

2.Seven lecture halls with a seating capacity of 100 persons are equipped with state of the art audiovisual teaching aids. The conference hall seats 100 people. In addition to this, there are demonstration rooms attached to every department.

3.A museum with exhibits pertaining to Anatomy, Pathology, Microbiology, Pharmacology and Forensic Medicine is situated on campus.

4.Hostels with a capacity to house and feed 500 each of male and female students is situated on campus. The medical courses are on campus courses and hence students are expected to stay on campus. The cafeteria provides vegetarian and non vegetarian food.

5.Sports and recreational facilities: Sports facilities made available to students include tennis, volleyball and basketball courts, and indoor swimming pool and Table Tennis facilities. The large play ground on the campus is used for cricket and football matches by students.

6.Medical Benefits: Medical facilities are available to students on campus. Free insurance cover is provided for all students after a thorough medical checkup under a group medical insurance scheme.

7.The Trust has a fleet of 25 vehicles at the disposal of the staff and students at the University.

The Who’s Who at Yenepoya

The Principal of the medical college is Dr Ghulam Jeelani Quadiri and that of the Dental College is Dr B H Sripathi Rao. Eminent doctors lead a team of over 200 professors in teaching individual branches of medicine. The Trust functions under the able leadership of Mr A Kunhi. The Honorary Vice Chancellor is Dr P Chandramohan while the Registrar is Dr J Konaje.

Contact Address

Yenepoya University
University Road, Deralakatte,
Mangalore 575018
Karnataka, India
Tel: +91 824 2204668/69/70
Fax: +91 824 2204667

Also See :

Raggi Mudde :