Tumkur is located at the foothills of the Devarayadurga Hill, around 70 KM from Bangalore, the capital of Karnataka. Learn more about Tumkur here.

The River Shimsha

The Shimsha is one of the tributaries of the river Kaveri. The river starts in the Devarayanadurga hills, Tumkur. It joins the Cauvery at Chamarajanagar after flowing for about 221 km from its place of origin. Tributaries of the river Shimsha The Shimsa has a number of small tributaries – Chikkahole,  Hebbahalla, Kanihalla, Kanva, Mullahalla, […]

Markonahalli Dam

markonahalli dam

Markonahalli Dam is built across the river Shimsha in the Kunigal Taluk of Tumkur district. It was built by Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV, the king of Mysore under the guidance of his Diwan, Sir M Visweswaraiah. It was built to irrigate 6070 hectares of land and has a masonry structure of 139 m and a pair of earth dams extending to 1470 […]

Mahalakshmi Temple, Gubbi

mahalakshmi temple, gubbi

Karnataka is famous for its rich temple culture. Like most districts of this south Indian state the district of Tumkur also has lots of temples dedicated to various gods and goddesses. One of the famous temples of Tumkur district is the Mahalakshmi temple. It is a huge draw for devotees who flock to visit it […]

Sree Siddaganga Mutt

District: Tumkur Town: Tumkur Temples: Sree Siddaganga Mutt Sree Siddaganga Mutt is an ancient and one of a kind Gurukul, situated in Tumkur, amidst the beautiful and serene landscape. It is about 63 km from Bangalore. The mutt’s aim is to provide service to the needy and to the poor, and this has been successfully […]

Tumkur – Beyond Unexplored Boundaries

Tumkur City is the administrative headquarters of the Tumkur district in Karnataka. Tumkur is located at the foothills of the Devarayadurga Hill, around 70 KM from Bangalore, the capital of Karnataka. Kante Arasu of the Mysore Dynasty is credited with establishing the city of Tumkur. Tumkur History and Overview Tumkur is a hilly region crisscrossed […]

Sri Mahalakshmi Temple, Goravanahalli

District: Tumkur Town: Goravanahalli Temple: Sri Mahalakshmi Temple Sri Mahalakshmi Temple, situated in Goravanahalli, is the abode of Goddess Mahalakshmi, goddess of wealth and prosperity. Goravanahalli – Overview Goravanahalli is one of the popular sanctums located in the Koratagere taluk of Tumkur district. The village houses the Goddess Mahalakshmi. This unique temple attracts many pilgrims […]

Devarayanadurga Temple

Yoga Narasimha Temple, Devarayanadurga

District: Tumkur Town: Tumkur Temple: Devarayanadurga Temple Devarayanadurga is a hill which is situated in Tumkur and has two popular temples, the Yoganarasimha and Bhoganarasimha and is a popular destination for the devotees. Devarayanadurga – Overview Devarayanadurga is a place in Tumkur district which is famous for its temples dedicated to Lord Narasimha. The place […]

Devarayana Durga

devarayanadurga hill. Image source http://bangaloregetaways.wordpress.com

Devarayana Durga is a rocky hill station situated in the midst of picturesque scenery at an altitude of 3940 feet, about nine miles east of Tumkur town of Karnataka State of India. It is 65 km from Bangalore,  India, by road on Tumkur road There are 3 elevations and seven gates leading to the top. […]